Mon-Fri from 8.00 am - 5.00 pm.
+49(0)7144-831333

FAQ - frequently asked questions

General information about our insects, transportation and packaging as well as our company registration information

Feeding the insects from "fauna topics"

All of our insects are fed before they are shipped and a sufficient amount of dried food is included in their transport packaging. This eliminates the need to feed the insects while they are in transit. It is not necessary to include water in the transport packaging as the insects are able to draw the moisture they need from the air. As the metabolic rate of the insects is lower while they are in transit, adding food to their transport packaging would likely cause them to suffer from indigestion or result in their death.

Order picking and shipment

Our insects are taken from the breeding facility during the day and placed into transport packaging before being prepared for shipment. Transportation generally takes place overnight for next day delivery. High quality, freshness and fast delivery times are guaranteed.

Transportation

Shipping and transporting our insects is possible at any time as long as this will not result in their inevitable death. Unlike vertebrates, insects can be shipped in outside temperatures under +7°C and above +29°C. When a vehicle from our own fleet is used for transportation, the loading area is cooled or heated to approximately 18°C.

The transport packaging we use varies according to the season and weather conditions. The appropriate packaging is chosen to prevent our insects from becoming hypothermic or overheated.

We recommend that all of our customers take advantage of next day delivery to avoid unnecessarily long transportation times.

Our packaging

All of our packaging is designed exclusively for shipping purposes and short storage periods in pet shops. After being purchased by end customers, the insects should be used as animal food or transferred to a terrarium. If the insects are transferred, they should be appropriately fed. Carrots are the most suitable food source.

Separating recyclables

All packaging used by fauna topics is registered with a partner of the most widespread waste sorting company in Germany (Duales System Deutschland GmbH). This is subject to a licence fee. For recycling to be effective, please separate cardboard and paper packaging from plastic packaging when throwing waste away.

Feed business registration

Our company, fauna topics Zoobedarf, Zucht und Handels-GmbH, is registered as a feed business in accordance with Article 9 of Regulation (EC) no. 183/2005. Regular inspections are conducted by the Kahlsruhe Regional Council, Germany.

Our veterinary authority

The veterinary authority located in the district of Ludwigsburg, Germany, is responsible for fauna topics Zoobedarf, Zucht und Handels-GmbH.

Erreichbar werktags von 8 bis 17 Uhr
+49(0)7144-831333

FAQ - frequently asked questions

Allgemeinie Informationen zu unseren Insekten, dem Transport und unsere Verpackungen sowie den zuständigen Behörden

Fütterung der Insekten von "fauna topics"

Alle unsere Insekten werden vor dem Versand gefüttert und bekommen eine ausreichende Ration Trockenfutter mit in Ihre Transportverpackung. Dadurch ist das Nachfüttern innerhalb der Transportverpackung nicht notwendig. Auch das Einbringen von Wasser in die Tansportverpacung ist nicht nötig, da die Insekten Ihre benötigte Feuchte aus der Luft entnehmen. Ein Nachfüttern in der Transportverpackung führt in der Regel dazu, dass die Tiere durch Ihren verlangsamten Stoffwechsel das Futter nicht verdauen können und verenden.

Wann erfolgen die Kommissionierung und der Versand

Unsere Insekten werden Tagsüber aus der Zuchtanlage entnommen, in Ihre Transportbehältnisse verpackt und anschließend kommissioniert. Der Versand erfolgt in der Regel über Nacht mit einer Next-Day-Zustellung. Dadurch garantieren wir Ihnen beste Qualität, Frische und kürzeste Lieferzeiten.

Transport

Der Versand und Transport von unseren Insekten ist jederzeit möglich solange diese nicht zum unvermeidbaren Tot der Insekten führen. Anders als bei Wirbeltieren dürfen Insekten auch bei Außentemperaturen von weniger als +7°C und von mehr als +29°C versendet werden. Bei Zufuhren mit unseren eigenen Fahrzeugen werden die Ladeflächen auf ca. 18°C gekühlt oder beheizt.

Die Transportverpackungen werden von uns je nach Jahreszeit und Wetterlage gewählt, dass die Insekten nicht auskühlen oder überhitzen.

Des Weiteren empfehlen wir allen unseren Kunden eine Next-Day-Zustellung um unnötig langen Transport zu vermeiden.

Verpackung

Alle Verpackungen in denen unsere Insekten versendet werden sind ausschließlich für den Versand und die kurze Lagerdauer im Zoofachgeschäft geeignet. Die Insekten müssen nach dem Kauf vom Endkunden verfüttert oder in ein Faunarium umgesetzt werden. Wenn die Insekten umgesetzt werden müssen diese auch Nachgefüttert werden. Hierzu eignen sich am besten Karotten.

Kartonagen und Verpackungsreste

Alle Kartonagen und sonstige Verpackungen werden von uns bei einem Partner des Dualen Systems gemeldet und hierfür eine Lizenzierungsgebühr entrichtet. Damit alle Verpackungen ordentlich recycelt werden können bitten wir Sie diese bei der Entsorgung nach Papier und Kunststoff zu trennen.

Zulassung als Futtermittelunternehmen

Die Firma „fauna topics Zoobedarf, Zucht und Handels-GmbH“ ist als Futtermittelunternehmen gemäß Artikel 9 der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 183/2005 registriert und wird in regelmäßigen Abständen vom Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe kontrolliert.

Zuständiges Veterinäramt

Für die Firma „fauna topics Zoobedarf, Zucht- und Handels-GmbH“ ist das im Landkreis Ludwigsburg ansässige Veterinäramt zuständig.